skip to primary navigationskip to content

Research Members

  1. Investigators


Prof. Christopher Abell, FRS, FMedSci
  • Professor of Biological Chemistry
Dr Ronojoy Adhikari
  • Lecturer in Applied Mathematics
Prof. Jeremy J. Baumberg, FRS
  • Prof. in Nanophotonics
Dr Andreas Bender
  • Reader in Molecular Informatics
Prof. Serena Best, CBE FREng FIMM
  • Professor of Materials Science
Dr. John Biggins
  • University Lecturer in Applied Mechanics
Prof. Raphael Blumenfeld
  • Bye-Fellow in Natural Sciences of Gonville and Caius College
  • Distinguished Professor, College of Science, NUDT, China
Prof. Ruth Cameron
  • Professor of Materials & Biomaterials
Prof. Mike Cates, FRS
  • Lucasian Professor of Mathematics
  • Royal Society Research Professor
Prof. Pietro Cicuta
  • Professor of Soft Matter Physics
Prof. Stuart Clarke
  • Professor of Surface Science
  • Member of the BP Institute
Dr. Rosana Collepardo-Guevara
  • Winton Advanced Research Fellow
Dr. Lucy Colwell
  • University Lecturer in Theoretical Chemistry
Dr. Otti Croze
  • Winton Advanced Research Fellow
Dr. Michael De Volder
  • Reader in Nanomanufacturing
Dr. Lorenzo Di Michele
  • Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow
Prof. Athene Donald, DBE, FRS
  • Professor of Experimental Physics
Dr. Erika Eiser
  • Reader in Experimental Soft Matter Physics
Prof. James Elliott
  • Professor of Macromolecular Materials Science
Dr Tijmen Euser
  • University Lecturer in Physics
Dr. Rachel C. Evans
  • Lecturer in the Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy
Dr. Kristian Franze
  • Lecturer in Physiology, Development and Neuroscience
Prof. Daan Frenkel, ForMemRS, NAS
  • Professor of Computational Chemistry
Prof. Lynn Gladden, CBE, FRS, FREng
  • Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering
Prof. Ray Goldstein, FRS
  • Schlumberger Professor of Complex Physical Systems
Prof. Jonathan Goodman
  • Professor of Chemistry
Prof. Clare Grey, FRS
  • Professor of Materials Chemistry
Dr Duncan Hewitt
  • Research Fellow of Gonville and Caius College
Dr. Yan Yan Shery Huang
  • University Lecturer in Bioengineering
Dr Robert Jack
  • Interdisciplinary lecturer in Chemistry and Applied Mathematics
Dr. Alexandre Kabla
  • Reader in Mechanobiology
Prof. Ulrich Keyser
  • Professor of Applied Physics
Prof. Tuomas Knowles
  • Professor of Physical Chemistry and Biophysics
Prof. Eric Lauga
  • Professor of Applied Mathematics
Dr Alpha Lee
  • Winton Advanced Research Fellow
Prof. George Malliaras
  • Prince Phillip Professor of Technology
Dr Chris Ness
  • Maudsley-Butler Research Fellow of Pembroke College
Dr Nikos Nikiforakis
  • Director for Academic Programmes, Centre for Scientific Computing
Dr. Michelle Oyen
  • Reader in Bioengineering
Dr Aleks Reinhardt
  • Lecturer in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Alex Routh
  • Professor of Colloid Science
  • Member of the BP Institute
Dr. Thierry Savin
  • University Lecturer in Bioengineering
Prof. Oren Scherman
  • Professor of Supramolecular and Polymer Chemistry
  • Director of the Melville Laboratory
Dr. Andy Sederman
  • Assistant Director of Research in Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology
Prof. Benjamin D. Simons
  • Herchel Smith Chair in Physics
  • Head of the Theory of Condensed Matter (TCM) physics group
  • Affiliated to the Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute and the Wellcome Trust - Medical Research Council Cambridge Stem Cell Institute.
Dr. Stoyan Smoukov
  • ERC Senior Research Associate
Dr Emma Talbot
  • Wellcome Trust Junior Research Fellow
Prof. Eugene Terentjev
  • Professor of Polymer Physics
Dr. Silvia Vignolini
  • Reader in Chemistry and Bio-Materials
Dr. Nathalie Vriend
  • Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow
Prof. David Wales, FRS
  • Prof. of Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Mark Warner, FRS
  • Prof. of Theoretical Physics
Prof. D Ian Wilson
  • Professor of Soft Solids and Surfaces
Prof. Grae Worster
  • Professor of Applied Mathematics
Dr. Alessio Zaccone
  • University Lecturer in Chemical Engineering
  • Head of the Statistical Physics Group

RSS Feed Latest news

Edwards members discover unexpected stability of 'Raspberry' Colloids

Oct 02, 2018

Research Groups in the Physics, Chemistry & Melville laboratories have discovered a new synthesis route to make uniform 'raspberry'-like colloids in a single step reaction. They show that aqueous suspensions of these nano-particles remain stable over a large range of ionic strengths, defying DLVO theory.

David Chandler Linnett Memorial Symposium

Mar 15, 2018

Friday 13th April 11:00-18:00 Pfizer Lecture Theatre

View all news